2018 Tennessee Art Education Association Award Winners

2019 TAEA Award Winners

Rachel Motta  

2019 TAEA Elementary Art Educator of the Year 

Michelle Vinci  

2019 TAEA Middle Level Art Educator of the Year 

Andrea Howard  

2019 TAEA Secondary Art Educator of the Year 

Cathy Wilson  

2019 TAEA Higher Education Art Educator of the Year 

Christan Allen  

2019 TAEA Museum Art Educator of the Year 

Kelly Hatton 

2019 TAEA Administration Art Educator of the Year  

Beth Affolter  

2019 TAEA National Art Honor Society Sponsor of the Year 

Donna Anderson 

2019 TAEA Distinguished Service within the Profession Award  

Nancy Walkup  

2019 Friend of TAEA 

Phyllis Ball  

2019 TAEA East Region Art Educator of the Year 

Amanda Galbraith 

2019 Tennessee Art Educator of the Year 

Tennessee Art Education Annual Awards

Each year, the Tennessee Art Education Association has the great pleasure of recognizing outstanding art educators from across the state, in a variety of categories.  These amazing teachers exemplify the qualities and standards of what it means to be a great art educator, going above-and-beyond for their students.


TAEA presents these annual awards:

·        To provide recognition to individuals within the membership who have achieved the highest level of professionalism in art education

·        To focus professional attention on exemplary art educators and increase public awareness of the importance of quality art education


Nomination process:

All nominees must be a member of NAEA/TAEA

Submission deadline: July 13, 2018

Review award categories 

Submit a nomination


To nominate a great art educator for an award, please submit:

1)   Complete the TAEA nomination form online. 


This year, we have streamlined the process, making it easier to submit your nominations online. Use the google form provided to fill out the nomination form. Please make sure you have all of your information before starting the submission process; there is no way to save your work or edit laterAt the end of the google form, you will be prompted to upload the nomination letter, resume/vita, and a photo of your nominee to a dropbox folder. 

To upload the nomination letter, resume/vita, and photo of your nominee, please use the following dropbox link. https://www.dropbox.com/request/YH6Ha54gxxQNVj3nU9IW

2)    A nomination letter, explaining why this person is a good candidate for an award. 

Please keep in mind that this letter and the accompanying nomination form are what we use to write a description of the award winners for the program booklet.  Please be sure to include as much detail as possible so that the write-up can properly reflect your nominee’s accomplishments.

3)  Resume or Vita for the nominee.

The resume or vita will help you fill out the online nomination form. You must submit a separate resume or vita.

3)    A digital photo of the nominee

A high-resolution jpeg is preferred, 300 dpi, size 8" by 10" 


If you have any questions, please contact the  TAEA Awards Chair and President-Elect,  Melody Weintraub at myweintraub@briarcrest.com